Work in Progress Wednesday 12-16-2015: H.P. Lovecraft’s Jigsaw Puzzle

Posted: December 16, 2015 in Board Games, Work in Progress Wednesday, Works in progress
Tags: , ,

WiPWednesday 12-16 #8

As happens most weeks, Wednesday has arrived. This means that it’s Work in Progress Wednesday!!! This week was all about the build for me–I had many new shiny toys that I want to bring to the tabletop, so I was focused on getting them to the point where I can at least put them on a table.

The miniatures you see above are Insidious Madnesses from Malifaux and I must say that not only do they look like something out of the Cthulhu mythos, but putting them together is like assembling a jigsaw puzzle straight from the mind of H. P. Lovecraft. That being said, once I figured out which tentacle went where and in which direction it twisted these models go together quite well. The design on these models are fantastic and whoever it was who figured out how to lay them out for injection molding is some kind of mad genius–these models are some of the most three dimensionally interesting miniatures I have ever built. Due to the nature of injection molding, most miniatures can be broken down into simple planar regions to prevent undercuts, but somehow they managed to convert these amorphous blobs into something that an injection machine could handle. If you are following the Wyrd build instructions for these, make sure you keep the back of the box handy, it helps to see the render of the assembled model to interpret the instructions. Also, dry fit all of the pieces first, it will save you much wailing and gnashing of teeth.

 

The Wyrd Black Friday Sale yielded many pre-release models that I have been wanting for a long time. I’m excited for the new crew options these models will allow me. My Christmas present from my wonderful wife also arrived this week (yes, we always do one big gift to each other in advance because we’re both hard to shop for, but we do have a smaller surprise to open when we actually celebrate Christmas); she got me an amazing carrying case/organizer box for Dominion from The Broken Token. For those of you not familiar with Dominion, it is the deck building game which launched an entire genre of games. It has several expansions each with dozens of new cards, which means having all of the expansions takes up a lot of space in the board game library and it’s a pain to mix and match cards from different expansions or transport them anywhere. My beautiful new case solves all of these problems! Anyway, here’s a look at what I’ve had going on this week:

With most of the new miniatures from my Black Friday order built, it’s time to finish off several other models I’ve been working on for a while as soon as I recover from my madness induced by the Insidious Madnesses. For a while I have also been kicking around the idea of actually designing a board game. I have a good concept and some preliminary mechanics in mind, so I have decided to stop hemming and hawing and made the goal that by the end of 2016 I will have a playable copy finished for playtesting. It’s too early to really release any details on my idea, but I’m excited to finally take the first steps of taking my concept and making it a reality.

Check back soon to see what’s going on around here, I will hopefully have a few finished miniatures to show off sometime later this week!

Back to the Top

Comments
  1. Wudugast says:

    Right, somebody get GW on the phone and let them know – that’s how chaos spawn/horrors should look! What scale are those insidious madness at (judging by the paintpots in the background I’m thinking they’re closer to horror size than spawn – then again perhaps all three together on a base could make an amazing chaos spawn…). Haven’t looked at the Malifaux stuff in years but it looks like they’ve really upped the game. Loving that bear as well – it is from Malifaux too?

    Good luck with the board game 🙂

    • gusladogames says:

      Yup, they are about the size of pink horrors, I’ve actually used a converted pink horror as a proxy Insidious Madness. They go on 30mm bases. The new plastics from Wyrd really are phenominal, definitely helps when you only have a couple of the same type of model as opposed to a unit of 20. The bear is also a Malifaux model; I had the old metal one waiting to be painted but figured I ought to get the new plastic one too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.